Skip to main content

Law School Databases and Electronic Resources: Law School Databases and Electronic Resources

Introduction

This guide will introduce you to the electronic resources and databases available to FAMU Law students, faculty, and staff. Public patrons may also access these resources while in the law library, unless the resourse is password restricted. If you have any questions, please ask a reference librarian for assistance.

Law Library Hours

FAMU Students & Faculty

  • Monday - Thursday: 7 am - 11 pm
  • Friday: 7 am - 10 pm
  • Saturday: 8 am - 9 pm
  • Sunday: 10 am - 6 pm

Public Patrons

  • Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Saturday: 1 p.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Sunday: 1 p.m. - 6 p.m.

Holiday Closures

  • Labor Day, Monday, September 3, 2012
  • Veteran's Day, Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Thanksgiving, Thursday & Friday, November 22-23, 2012
  • Winter Break, TBD

Comprehensive Resources (A - Z)

Selected resources for broad research across multiple sources

Note: Resources with off campus access are only available to FAMU students and faculty.

 

Bloomberg Law: Coming soon to FAMU College of Law (Password restricted: Each law student and faculty member must register and create an individual password.)

CasemakerX (Password restricted: Each law student and faculty member is assigned an individual password.)

CasemakerX is a legal research database, similar to WestLaw or LexisNexis, which is provided free-of-charge to members of the specific bar associations. The Florida Bar Association does not subscribe to Casemaker.  Law students, however, have free access to CasemakerX. In order to create an account, go to http://www.casemakerx.com/, and click "Sign Up". Then register using your FAMU email address (the email address ending in @famu.edu ).

Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) (On-campus and off campus access)
Contains archives of the scanned versions of harder find state and federal legal materials. Also contains legal materials from jurisdictions around the world.

LexisNexis (Password restricted: Each law student and faculty member is assigned an individual password.)
Collection of thousands of databases comprising mostly primary and secondary legal materials as well as collections of newspapers and other sources of information.

Westlaw (Password restricted: Each law student and faculty member is assigned an individual password.)
Online portal to legal materials published by West. Also includes access to thousands of databases across a spectrum of legal and current affairs topics.

West Online Study Aids (Password restricted: Each law student and faculty member must register and create an individual password.)
A collection of study aids, including the Acing, Gilberts, and Nutshell series. 

Assistant Director for Public Services

Lorelle Anderson's picture
Lorelle Anderson
Contact:
201 Beggs Ave.

Orlando, FL 32801

(407) 254-3288
Subjects:Law

More Ways to Contact Us

 Call the Circulation Desk, (407) 254-3263

 Call the Reference Desk, (407) 254-3289

Email us at famulawlibrary@gmail.com