Skip to main content

Civil Rights Research Collections: Other Microform and Electronic Collections

Collections of primary sources of the abolitionist and civil rights movements, accessible at the FAMU College of Law.

Electronic Resources

Microform Resources: Personal Papers and Organizational Records

Congress of Racial Equality (Core) Papers, 1960-1976.

This collection covers the period of intense civil rights activity by CORE during the early 1960s. Parts 1 and 2 cover field projects conducted in the South and West during this period. Part 3 covers the educational and legal aspects of CORE's work from 1960 to 1976. 

Felix Frankfurter Papers

The centerpiece of The Felix Frankfurter Papers is the unparalleled collection of over 160,000 pages of Frankfurter’s complete Supreme Court "case files" of opinions and memoranda from the middle of the 1938 term through the 1961 term in Parts I and II. Part III complements these case files with Frankfurter's correspondence with both his fellow Supreme Court justices and many other important figures.

Louis Brandeis Papers

The papers generated by the Justice fall within the years, 1870-1941. They include correspondence, drafts of speeches and publications, news clipping scrapbooks, reference files, pamphlets and reports, and legal documents. Family letters, the earliest dated 1810, and biographical sketches as recent as 1976, are also found. Brandeis' pre-court years as a reform-minded Boston attorney and his active role in the Zionist movement are extensively documented in the papers.

Paul Robeson Collection

Correspondence, texts of speeches, articles, columns and statements written by Paul Robeson and his wife, Eslanda Goode Robeson, photographs, news clippings, and press releases documenting Robeson's artistic and political activities. 

William H. Hastie Papers

The William H. Hastie Papers illustrates the extraordinary career of America’s first black federal judge. Hastie was one of the pioneers of the judicial struggle to end racial discrimination. His papers carefully delineate the dual role that Hastie played in the civil rights movement: first, as a lawyer, dean of the Howard Law School, and a judge of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals; and, second, as a political crusader who served on the board of directors of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund from 1941 to 1968. He was chairman of the 1965 White House Conference "To Fulfill These Rights."

Zechariah Chafee Papers

For almost a half century Zechariah Chafee Jr. was widely recognized as the dean of civil liberties scholarship in the United States. Through his writings, speeches, and correspondence with the most respected jurists in the nation, Chafee influenced both public opinion and judicial reasoning in the areas of free speech and civil rights to a degree unmatched by any scholar.