Skip to main content

Engineering: Full Record: Citation & Abstract

This guide covers the following areas of study and more related to Engineering: Chemical & Biomedical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering, and Mechanical Engi

Citation & Abstract Tips

1. Record Tool Bar

When viewing a full record, use one of the tools to work with the item.

Add to selected items lets you mark the record and create a list of items to work with later on.

Save to My Research adds the records to your My Research account where they will be stored and available each time you sign in to the My Research account.

Email or Print any marked items.

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Export items into a bibliographic manager like RefWorks (subscription and account required) or to the RIS file format. Exporting moves a copy of the record out of ProQuest and into one of the bibliographic managers or supported file formats.

Save is used to save the records as a PDF, RTF, HTML, or a text only file. Choose to include the level of record detail you want to save and a citation style. A permanent link to each document will also be saved with your file.

Tags are relevant words or phrases that you assign to items in ProQuest to help you organize your research and classify items. They can be made private or public and you can add as many tags to a document as you like. In order to create tags, you must have a My Research account, but you do not have to have a My Research account to view tags created by other users. For additional information, please see the My Research section of this guide.

2. Share

The Share button allows you to share links to documents with other ProQuest users via social networking sites. Move your mouse over the button to display and select from a list of featured available services. With the list displayed, click More... to display a complete list of available services.

3. Find a Copy

When you select to view the Citation & Abstract format, each record will contain links to the available document formats and any linking tools that the library administrator has enabled to help locate the full text. Please consider that not all records have full text available from ProQuest and you may only have a link to view the Citation & Abstract (the full record). If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links here.

4. References

Clicking of References will display the bibliography which was included in the indexed article. The Cited By link will show all articles which have cited this particular reference since its publication. Documents with Shared References will retrieve all other articles which have one or more cited references in common with this article.

5. See Similar Items

Click on See similar items to display five suggested items that are related to the current record. ProQuest analyzes the keywords in the full record and then suggests similar items. To see more similar items, click Next 5.

Search with indexing terms displays the indexed subject terms for the record and allows you to choose relevant subjects. When you click Search, ProQuest looks for documents in your currently selected databases that are indexed using ALL of your selected terms. It is possible to come across records that do not include subject terms and therefore this feature may not be available. In other cases additional index terms such as the author may appear in this section.

6. Abstract

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an "on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

7. Indexing

The Indexing section displays the other indexed fields that did not appear at the top of the record. The indexed fields are also known as searchable fields. One exception is the Document URL field and this is not part of the searchable fields list, but instead provides a link to the full record. This is a persistent or durable URL that you can bookmark or save to give you access to the full record at another time.

Please see the Searchable Fields section of this guide for a complete list of fields.

8. Tags

In this section of the full record you can view any tags that have been assigned to the records and assign your own tags.

Tags are relevant words or phrases that you assign to items in ProQuest to help you organize your research and classify items. Tags can be made private or public and you can add as many tags to a document as you like. In order to create tags, you must have a My Research account, but you do not have to have a My Research account to view tags created by other users. For additional information, please see the My Research section of this guide.

When you make tags public and share them with other ProQuest users, it may be several hours before the tags are picked up by the ProQuest search engine.

Full Record: Citation & Abstract