Land-grant colleges and universities occupy a special place in the landscape of American higher education. Publicly funded agricultural and technical educational institutions were first founded in the mid-nineteenth century with the Morrill Act, which established land grants to support these schools. They include such prominent names as Cornell, Maryland, Michigan State, MIT, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers, Texas A&M, West Virginia University, Wisconsin, and the University of California--in other words, four dozen of the largest and best public universities in America. Add to this a number of historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and tribal colleges--in all, almost 300 institutions. Their mission is a democratic and pragmatic one: to bring science, technology, agriculture, and the arts to the American people. In this book, Stephen M. Gavazzi and E. Gordon Gee discuss present challenges to and future opportunities for these institutions. Drawing on interviews with 27 college presidents and chancellors, Gavazzi and Gee explore the strengths and weaknesses of land-grant universities while examining the changing threats they face. Arguing that the land-grant university of the twenty-first century is responsible to a wide range of constituencies, the authors also pay specific attention to the ways these universities meet the needs of the communities they serve. Ultimately, the book suggests that leaders and supporters should become more fiercely land-grant in their orientation; that is, they should work to more vigorously uphold their community-focused missions through teaching, research, and service-oriented activities. Combining extensive research with Gee's own decades of leadership experience, Land-Grant Universities for the Future argues that these schools are the engine of higher education in America--and perhaps democracy's best hope. This book should be of great interest to faculty members and students, as well as those parents, legislators, policymakers, and other area stakeholders who have a vested interest in the well-being of America's original public universities.
"For researchers already familiar with biomass conversion technologies and for professionals in other fields, such as agriculture, food, and chemical industries, here is a comprehensive review of the emerging biorefinery industry. The book's content has been conveniently organized according to technologies (biomass feedstock and pretreatment, hydrolytic enzymes in biorefinery, and biofuels), with each chapter highlighting an important biobased industrial product. For undergraduate and graduate students, the book is a thorough introduction to biorefinery technologies"-- Provided by publisher.
Food Industry Wastes: Assessment and Recuperation of Commodities presents emerging techniques and opportunities for the treatment of food wastes, the reduction of water footprint, and creating sustainable food systems. Written by a team of experts from around the world, this book provides a guide for implementing bioprocessing techniques. It also helps researchers develop new options for the recuperation of these wastes for community benefit. More than 34 million tons of food waste was generated in the United States in 2009, at a cost of approximately $43 billion. And while less than three percent of that waste was recovered and recycled, there is growing interest and development in recovering and recycling food waste. These processes have the potential not only to reduce greenhouse gases, but to provide energy and resources for other purposes. This book examines these topics in detail, starting with sources, characterization and composition of food wastes, and development of green production strategies. The book then turns to treatment techniques such as solid-state fermentation and anaerobic digestion of solid food waste for biogas and fertilizer. A deep section on innovative biocatalysts and bioreactors follows, encompassing hydrogen generation and thermophilic aerobic bioprocessing technologies. Rounding out the volume are extensive sections on water footprints, including electricity generation from microbial fuel cells (MFCs), and life cycle assessments. Food waste is an area of focus for a wide range of related industries from food science to energy and engineering Outlines the development of green product strategies International authoring team represents the leading edge in research and development Highlights leading trends of current research as well as future opportunities for reusing food waste
Food and Industrial Bioproducts and Bioprocessing describes the engineering aspects of bioprocessing, including advanced food processing techniques and bioproduct development. The main focus of the book is on food applications, while numerous industrial applications are highlighted as well. The editors and authors, all experts in various bioprocessing fields, cover the latest developments in the industry and provide perspective on new and potential products and processes. Challenges and opportunities facing the bioproduct manufacturing industry are also discussed. Coverage is far-reaching and includes: current and future biomass sources and bioprocesses; oilseed processing and refining; starch and protein processing; non-thermal food processing; fermentation; extraction techniques; enzymatic conversions; nanotechnology; microencapsulation and emulsion techniques; bioproducts from fungi and algae; biopolymers; and biodegradable/edible packaging. Researchers and product developers in food science, agriculture, engineering, bioprocessing and bioproduct development will find Food and Industrial Bioproducts and Bioprocessing an invaluable resource.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.