Skip to main content

Essay Writing and Research: Find Articles and Books

Find Resources

 

Search the FAMU Library Catalog!

 

 

Use this power search to access multiple article databases at one time.

 

 

Click here for Databases A - Z
 

Click your topic area for a list of recommended databases.

.

Use the catalog to find books, e-books, journal articles, and much more.

Finding Books:

  • Start with a keyword search.
  • On the results screen, refine by format Books
  • Once you find a book of interest, you proceed by:
    • E-books:
      • Follow the link in the record to access the book.
      • If you are located off-campus, you will be asked to identify yourself.
    • For print books of interest:
      • Note the location, call number, and status.
        • If the book is available, you can go to the library and retrieve the item.
        • If the book is unavailable, you can place a hold on it.

 

Finding Articles:

  • Start with a keyword search.
  • On the results screen, refine by format Articles.
    • You can also limit your articles to "Peer-reviewed" only.
  • Once you find an article of interest, you proceed by:
    • If you are located off-campus, you will be asked to identify yourself.
    • Follow the link in the record to access the article.

Finding Journal Articles

Specialized Databases by Discipline:

For your r essay, you may want to search some subject specific databases.  Start by identifying the broad subject area of your topic and then consult the appropriate discipline specific research guide.

General Multidisciplinary Databases:

Multidisciplinary databases are very good starting points as they provide you with samples of resources in a wide variety of subject areas.

I found an article, where's the full text?

If an article has been published in a journal, we don't necessarily have the full text.   Try these steps: