LibGuides: African American Theatre: Reference

Online Reference Resources

Click for links to general reference articles from our electronic reference databases.

African American theatre
from Britannica Online
African Americans in Film and Theater
from Credo Reference Database - Encyclopedia of American Studies
Experimental Theater
from Gale Virtual Reference - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
The Federal Theatre Project
from Gale Virtual Reference - American Decades
American Negro Theatre
from Gale Virtual Reference - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Lafayette Players
from Gale Virtual Reference - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Lincoln Theater
from Gale Virtual Reference - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Musical Theater
from Gale Virtual Reference - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Drama
from Gale Virtual Reference - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Drama, Comedy and Dance
from Gale Vitual Reference - African American Almanac

A History of African American Theatre by James V. Hatch; Errol G. Hill; Don B. Wilmeth
Publication Date: 2003
COLEMAN LIBRARY African-American Reserve - 4th Floor, Room 403 -- PN2270.A35H55 2003
The Ghost Walks by Henry T. Sampson
Publication Date: 1988
COLEMAN LIBRARY African-American Collection - 4th Floor, Room 403 -- PN2270.A35S25 1988
The African American Theatre Directory, 1816-1960 by Bernard L. Peterson
Publication Date: 1997
ONLINE Electronic Resources

COLEMAN LIBRARY African-American Collection (Reference) - 4th Floor, Room 403 -- PN2270.A35P48 1997
Dictionary of the Black Theatre by Allen L. Woll
Publication Date: 1983
COLEMAN LIBRARY African-American Collection (Reference) - 4th Floor, Room 403 -- PN2270.A35W64 1983