Education: Books

The Dictionary of Education Terms provides students with a one stop destination to the answers for all those "but what does that mean?" questions. It gives clear and succinct definitions of key terms and theorists, accompanied by practical examples to place them in the 'real life' context. The dictionary contains an abundance of useful terms with meanings that will prove helpful when preparing and writing assignments, seeking clarification and as a ready reference when on school placement.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative reference dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. Offering a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. In this new edition, every single entry has been reviewed and updated with reference to new developments and publications.

A new American Dictionary specifically designed for learners of English. Written for individuals working to improve their English language skills. Featuring over 42,000 words, phrases, and meanings - including help with grammar, collocations, synonyms, and word choice - our learner's dictionary uses the words you already know to define new vocabulary. In addition, the American Dictionary for learners of English includes interactive tools to help students plan, write and review their written work. Researched with help from an Advisory Board of language experts who understand the needs of English learners or any students who are struggling with writing.

Customers who place a standing order for the Tests in Print series or the Mental Measurements Yearbook series will receive a 10% discount on every volume. To place your standing order, please call 1-800-848-6224 (in the U.S.) or 919-966-7449 (outside the U.S.). Designed to complement the Mental Measurements Yearbooks, Tests in Print fills a pressing need for a comprehensive bibliography of all commercially available English language tests in print. Although these volumes are useful in and of themselves, their maximum usefulness requires the availability and use of the Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Although information on available tests and specific test bibliographies is valuable, the greatest service which Tests in Print can perform is to encourage test users to choose tests more wisely by consulting the MMY test reviews, test reviews from journals, and the professional literature on the construction, use, and validity of the tests being considered.

Thousands of books have examined the effects of parents on their children. But almost none have thought to ask: What are the effects of children on their parents? In All Joy and No Fun, award-winning journalist Jennifer Senior tries to tackle this question, isolating and analyzing the many ways in which children reshape their parents' lives, whether it's their marriages, their jobs, their habits, their hobbies, their friendships, or their internal senses of self.

This volume provides insight into the family life of Native Americans of the northeast quadrant of the North American continent and those living in the adjacent coastal and piedmont regions.

Once celebrated as a model development for its progressive social indicators, the southern Indian state of Kerala has earned the new distinction as the nation's suicide capital, with suicide rates soaring to triple the national average since 1990.

José Vilson writes about race, class, and education through stories from the classroom and researched essays. His rise from rookie math teacher to prominent teacher leader takes a twist when he takes on education reform through his now-blocked eponymous blog, TheJoseVilson.com.