Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History: Reference Resources

Online Reference Resources

  • Grove Art Online    

    • Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online™, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists™, and other Oxford art reference resources. You may have access to Grove, Benezit, or both; your list of sources and search results automatically reflect your settings.

  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

    • BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.

Print and Electronic Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of World Art 1959-68 ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection N31 .E4833

Dictionaries

  • The Adeline Art Dictionary COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection N33.A223 1966

Guides

  • Art Research Methods and Resources: A Guide to Finding Art Information COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection N85.J64 1984   

  • Guide to the Literature of Art History COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection Z5931.A67   

  • Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection Z5931.M374 2005   

Bibliographies

  • Art and Architecture in Central Europe, 1550-1620 : An Annotated Bibliography COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection Z5936.M34K38 1988
  • The Arts of Central Africa : An Annotated Bibliography COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection Z5961.Z28B53 1987
  • Italian Printmaking, Fifteenth and Sixteenth Centuries : An Annotated Bibliography COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection Z5947.3.I8K37 1987
  • The Art of Pre-Hispanic Mesoamerica : An Annotated Bibliography COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection Z1209.2.M4B47 1985

Biographies

  • Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection Z5938.F73 1985

  • Index to Artistic Biography COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection D5781.K43   

Directories

  • American Art Directory COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection N50.A54

  • Art in America: Annual Guide to Galleries, Museums, Artists FAMU ONLINE Electronic Resources, COLEMAN LIBRARY Periodicals and Microforms

  • International Directory of Arts COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection N50.I6

Histories

  • Gardner’s Art Through the Ages COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection N5300.G25

  • History of Art ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reserve N5300.J3 2001

  • The Visual Arts: A History COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection N5300.H68 1991

Timeline

Iconography

  • Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection N7560.H34 1979b

  • Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art COLEMAN LIBRARY Reference Collection N7560.E53 1998

  • Iconography of Christian Art COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection N7830.S35132

Instructor Librarian, Florida A&M University Architecture Library

Profile Photo
Brian (FAMU)
Contact:
Florida A&M University
S.H. Coleman Library
525 Orr Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32307
(850) 599-8675