Skip to Main Content

Art History: Architecture Resources

Architecture Resources

  • Art & Architecture Complete

    Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books.

  • Art Source

    Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

  • Avery Architectural Index

    This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.

  • Humanities Source

    Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.

  • Humanities International Complete

    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

  • JSTOR*

    JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Architecture Journals at FAMU

  • The Journal of Architecture ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Periodicals
  • IUP Journal of Architecture FAMU ONLINE Electronic Resources
  • Journal of Islamic Architecture FAMU ONLINE Electronic Resources
  • Journal of Architectural Conservation ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Periodicals
  • Journal of Architectural Engineering FAMU ONLINE Electronic Resources

Websites

Biographical Sources

  • African-American Architects : a Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945 ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reserve NA736 .A47 2004
     

  • Biographical Dictionary of British Architects, 1600-1840 ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA996.C6 1980
     

  • Contemporary Architects ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA680.C625
     

  • The Architect : Women in Contemporary Architecture ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Collection NA1997.A73 2001
     

  • International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA40.I48 1993
     

  • Icons of Architecture : the 20th Century ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Collection NA680.I26 1998

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Encyclopedia of American Architecture ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA705.P3 1995
     

  • Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA680.E495 2004
     

  • Encyclopedia of the Vernacular Architecture of the World ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA208.E53 1997
     

  • The Elements of Style : an Encyclopedia of Domestic Architectural Detail ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Collection NA2850.E44 2012
     

  • The Elements of Style : a Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the Present ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Collection NA2850.E44 1996
     

  • Dictionary of Architecture & Construction ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA31.H32 2006
     

  • Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA31.D38 2008
     

  • Architecture and Ornament : an Illustrated Dictionary COLEMAN LIBRARY General Collection NA2840.M36 1998
     

  • Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Collection NA31.B83 2002
     

  • An Illustrated Glossary of Early Southern Architecture and Landscape ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY Reference Collection NA727.I44 1999

Historic Preservation

  • A Glossary of Historic Masonry Deterioration Problems and Preservation Treatments COLEMAN LIBRARY Federal Documents I 29.2:H 62/19
     

  • A Handbook on Historic Preservation Law ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Collection KF4310.H36 1983
     

  • Preserving America : Historic Preservation and Heritage Tourism in Housing and Community Development : a Guide to Using Community Development Block Grant Funds for Historic Preservation and Heritage Tourism in Your Communities COLEMAN LIBRARY Federal Documents HH 1.6/3:P 92/2
     

  • Historic Cities and Sacred Sites : Cultural Roots for Urban Futures FAMU ONLINE Electronic Resources
     

  • Historic Preservation : an Introduction to its History, Principles, and Practice ARCHITECTURE LIBRARY General Library E159.T95 2000
     

  • How to Complete the National Register Multiple Property Documentation Form

    • Online forms from the U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service for registering historical buildings.

Style Guides

Purdue OWL

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.

CiteSource

Learn how to document information in your field of research. Check citation examples for information formats in a variety of citation styles. Read about copyright, intellectual property, and how the Web shapes information use.

Citation Guides

For more information about citations, check out the resource guide.