LibGuides: Secured Transactions Materials Guide: Home

Welcome to the FAMU Law Secured Transactions Guide

This guide is to help students find materials and study aids in the library’s collection online and in print formats. When able, this guide will link to online materials or to the FAMU Law Library’s catalog entry for each source.

This guide has been organized by column. Each column contains lists for sources that are available in the library, available online, and available through the school's West Academic Study Aid subscription.

Disclaimer: The information and links provided in this guide are not intended to provide legal advice. The FAMU College of Law Library offers no assurance or guarantee the information provided is accurate or current.

Warning: Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing. If you want more information, please visit this page.

Items in the Library

Questions and Answers by Bruce A. Markell; Timothy R. Zinnecker
Call Number: KF1050.Z9 M37 2018
ISBN: 9781531006891
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
This study guide uses 275 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your knowledge of UCC Article 9 (as most recently revised by the so-called 2010 amendments) and its occasional intersection with other sources of law such as the Federal Tax Lien Act and the Bankruptcy Code.
Secured Transactions by James Brook
Call Number: KF1053.B76 2014
ISBN: 9781454817680
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.
Secured Transactions and Payment Systems by Leo L. Clarke; John F. Dolan
Call Number: KF1050.Z9 S39 2003
ISBN: 0735539243
Publication Date: 2003-02-21
The Problems & Answers format is especially effective for teaching students how to read and interpret the Uniform Commercial Code. In addition to that unique advantage, ths is one of the very few UCC ancillary texts completely up to date on Article 9 revisions.
Principles of Secured Transactions by James J. White; Robert S. Summers
Call Number: KF1050 .W458 2007
ISBN: 0314184783
Publication Date: 2007-09-05
This book offers a comprehensive and accessible introduction to Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It covers secured transactions from A to Z with examples and answers that will enable students to test their knowledge and find the answers to the many conundrums in Article 9.
The ABCs of the UCC by Russell A. Hakes
Call Number: KF1050.Z9 H355 2013
ISBN: 1627223959
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
This book is a wonderful introduction to the law governing security interests in personal property, which is based on Article 9 of the UCC. This book explains the terminology, structure, and methodology of security interests governed by Article 9 in a readable, concise, and yet thorough manner.
Understanding Secured Transactions by William H. Lawrence; William H. Henning; R. Wilson Freyermuth
Call Number: KF1050.L39 2012
ISBN: 1422490831
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
This Understanding treatise provides students with an analysis of the underlying rationales of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, the federal Bankruptcy Code as it relates to Article 9, and other relevant state and federal legislation.

Items Available Online

Secured Transaction Guide
With business moving freely across state lines and the volume of credit transactions continually increasing, the issues facing those accountable for reducing risk and complying with rules in the area of secured credit transactions grow more and more numerous.
Secured Transactions Under the Uniform Commercial Code
Secured Transactions Under the UCC examines every facet of secured lending, analyzing in detail difficult issues which are either glossed over or overlooked entirely in other more abbreviated treatments.
The ABCs of the UCC, Revised article 9, Secured Transactions
An introduction to the law governing security interests in personal property, this book explains the terminology, structure, and methodology of security interests governed by Article 9.
Secured Transactions Law Reform : Principles, Policies and Practice
Secured transactions law has been subjected to a close scrutiny over the last two decades. One of the main reasons for this is the importance of availability of credit and the consequent need to reform collateral laws in order to improve access to finance. The ability to give security effectively influences not only the cost of credit but also, in some cases, whether credit will be available at all.

Items Available on West Academic

Black Letter Outline on Secured Transactions
This “Black Letter” is designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination.
Principles of Secured Transactions
With the addition of three new co-authors, this new edition updates prior versions to include new caselaw developments, substantive discussions of law and policy, and references to current UCC revisions and amendments.
Secured Transactions in a Nutshell
The purpose of this Nutshell is to discuss the law embodied in Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code on Secured Transactions, primarily as set forth in the 1999 version. Since the fourth edition of this Nutshell, all states have enacted the 1999 version.
A Short & Happy Guide to Secured Transactions
This new Short & Happy Guide to Secured Transactions has been created by Professor Barnes to make important concepts from Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code plain and understandable to students.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Secured Transactions
The secured transactions outline discusses coverage of Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Article 9 and the creation of a security interest, including attachment, security agreements, value, and the debtor's rights in the collateral. Also included are perfection, filing, priorities, bankruptcy proceedings and Article 9, default proceedings, and bulk transfers.
Secured Transactions Exam Pro
This study aid includes eight comprehensive sample examinations, each containing 25 questions. Each exam covers both the basics and the intricacies of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code. The detailed answer keys identify the best answer choice, explain why it is the best, and explain why the other answers are not better. This detailed analysis allows students to sharpen their skills and deepen their understanding of secured transactions.
Law School Legends Audio on Secured Transactions
This secured transactions audio lecture covers collateral, security interests between debtor and creditor, such as creation and attachment, between creditor and others, including perfection filing, possession, control, automatic, and temporary, and priorites of secured parties v. lien creditors. It also defines a perfected secured party, purchaser BIOCs, holder in due course rule, and secured party v. secured party purchase money security interests, fixtures, and accessions.