Skip to main content

Literature Review

Materials beyond FAMU: Interlibrary Loan

You may need to broaden the scope of your research to materials not owned by FAMU.

Interlibrary Loan  
If you need a book or an article that is not available at FAMU, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan for free of charge.  Books take approximately three to seven days while articles may come to your ILL account electronically within 48 hours.

To identify books and other materials on your topic that FAMU doesn't own, try searching UBorrow, a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the state of Florida.

To identify articles on your topic, use any of our databases and click "Find It" or "SFX" to view Full-Text options.  If the full-text is not available in another database or if we do not own the print journal upstairs, you may request the article via Interlibrary Loan (this will be an option in the SFX window).

Theses & Dissertations

It may be helpful to look at theses and dissertations both to view samples of other literature reviews and to see the current, unpublished research in the field.

Finding Articles & Other Materials: Choosing a Database

One Search (on the left) searches many of our databases at one time; however, you may also need to search discipline-specific databases to find resources for your literature review.

There are three ways to find databases that will be useful to your research:

1. Research guides - Consult the library's research guide in your discipline or area of study to find librarian-recommended databases, reference resources, and web sites in your field. The research guide will also give you the contact information for the librarian who can meet with you if you need further assistance.

2. Databases by Subject Guide - This guide provides a complete listing of databases in your subject.

3. A-Z Database Guide - You may find databases by name using this guide.

The video below may help you if you get stuck.

Steps for Finding Articles

Locate a database using one of the methods above.

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources (e.g., peer-reviewed, scholarly/academic journals), other terms, etc.

Use the full-text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article.

If the full-text is not available in the database, use  or SFX to link to see if the full-text is available in another database or in our print journals.

If not, there is an option to request it via interlibrary loan.