Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research : A How to Guide for Students: Step 3. Gather background information

Background Info

Books and articles are great. But, they are not always the best place to start! You can save a lot of time by starting with reference type resources —like encyclopedia articles.

Why we ♥ academic encyclopedia articles

  • They present concise summaries (aka, SHORT - not a lot to read)
  • Academic encyclopedia articles are written by scholars who are experts in their fields, scholars whose work you may want to use
  • These articles often include short bibliographies that identify the most important works on a topic (again, you may want to cite these in your work)
  • Scholarly encyclopedia articles are a quick way to get up to speed on subject-specific jargon, important people and places, critical events, etc.

 How to find great subject-specific encyclopedias

  • Search the FAMU library catalog using the Advanced Search feature. Enter your search terms and using the LOCATION field, limit results to 'Coleman, Reference'
  • Search our online encyclopedias - see the box below.
  • Ask a librarian or your professor what the most important reference work is for this class!

Timesaver!   Remember, even if you can't use an encyclopedia article as a source for your final project, encyclopedias can give you a jump start, lead you to quality sources you CAN cite, and save a lot of time!

Online Reference Sources