FAMU Law Library Required Courses Materials Guide: Civil Procedure

Practical in focus and comprehensive in scope, Florida Civil Procedure, Third Edition analyzes the entire spectrum of civil procedure in Florida, providing busy practitioners with a convenient, completely up-to-date reference for every conceivable procedural problem they may encounter -- before, during, or after trial.

Moore's Federal Rules Pamphlets offers federal practitioners the full text of the federal rules, plus a mini-treatise with analysis and case annotations. The rules and analysis appear in four portable pamphlets, sold separately or as a set, so attorneys can keep the relevant pamphlet in their briefcase or have it handy on their desktop. The pamphlets, available each December, only a couple of weeks after the effective date of the federal rule amendments, are timely and accurate.

Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of federal civil, criminal and appellate procedure, including rules of civil, criminal, and appellate procedure, rules of evidence, the federal judicial system, jurisdiction of all federal courts, venue, removal of cases, res judicata, relation of state and federal courts, multidistrict litigation, and more. Provides extensive analysis of each rule as interpreted and applied by the federal courts and affected by related statutes and rules. Includes official forms adopted with the rules. Contains numerous tables and couples key words, ideas, and legal concepts to index and cited decisions, statutes, and other relevant materials.

Moore's Federal Practice is the backbone of any federal litigator's library. Comprehensive and authoritative, Moore's is written by the judges, lawyers, and professors who write and amend the Federal Rules, and is LexisNexis Matthew Bender's flagship treatise on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure.

The acing series provides a concise overview of legal courses. Using a checklist and outline format, Acing Civil Procedure provides the information you need to know for your exams in a clear and easy to understand manner.

Exam Pro provides multiple choice questions for a variety of topics. To get the most of the Exam Pro titles, look over all the answer explanations in the back of the book. You can learn a lot from seeing how you could have gotten an answer wrong and avoid making similar mistakes on an exam.

Of all the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students’ experience. This book will demystify Civil Procedure. It will explain the doctrine and make it easy to remember. It includes numerous tips for civil procedure exams (as well as regarding law school exams generally). Before you know it, you’ll be part of the hip crowd – the Civ Pro crowd.

This book provides a comprehensive analysis of civil procedure, convenient for class or exam preparation. It provides clear and concise explanations of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. It includes self-testing and diagnostic review questions and case squibs, which are capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues, and relevant law. It also provides a casebook table, which keys to relevant pages of leading casebooks, and numerous essay and multiple-choice questions with model answers and detailed explanations. A study guide offers suggestions for the critical hours before an exam.

The topics discussed in this law school study outline include territorial (personal) jurisdiction (including venue and forum non conveniens), subject matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal question jurisdiction, and supplemental jurisdiction). Explains the Erie doctrine and federal common law, pleadings (including counterclaims, cross-claims, supplemental pleadings), parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery (including devices, scope, sanctions and discovery conferences), summary judgment, pretrial conference and settlements, trial (including right to jury trial, motions, jury instruction and arguments, and post-verdict motions), appeals, claim preclusion (res judicata) and issue preclusion (collateral estoppel). Includes an extensive Capsule Summary of all the topics covered, Review Questions keyed to the outline's coverage, and sample essay questions and answers.

This audio lecture covers subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, long arm statutes, and constitutional limitations. It also discusses in rem and quasi in rem jurisdiction, service of process, venue, transfer, forum non conviens, removal, waiver, governing law, pleadings, and joinder of claims. Also included are permissive and compulsory joinder of parties, counterclaims and cross-claims, ancillary jurisdiction, impleader, class actions, discovery, pretrial adjudication, summary judgment trial, post trial motions, appeals, res judicata, and collateral estoppel. The new edition has references to all the newly restyled Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.