FAMU Law Library Required Courses Materials Guide: Constitutional Law

This book serves as a comprehensive guide and reference tool on constitutional law. Expert authors summarize judicial review and its limits, national legislative powers, state power in American federalism, Congress and the executive power, due process of law, equal protection, freedom of expression and religion, state action, and congressional legislation in civil rights and liberties.

CrunchTime provides a comprehensive topic breakdown and critical information review all in one tool! The application flow charts can be used all semester long, but the capsule summaries are ideal for exam preparation. Each title offers capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers, and recommended approaches for crafting essays that will get winning grades! CrunchTime Series Features: & Capsule summary of subject matter Condensed format Flow charts illustrate major concepts Multiple-choice questions with answers Essay questions with model answers

This treatise provides a detailed, up-to-date, and comprehensive analysis of American constitutional law. It examines the issues that are studied and litigated today and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, the sources of national authority, the growth of federal commerce and fiscal powers, and the limits on state laws that burden interstate commerce. It analyzes individual liberties and due process, including freedom of speech and religion, federal powers to enforce the Bill of Rights, and limitations on the jurisdiction of federal courts. Finally, it examines the separation of powers, including the restrictions on the foreign affairs power.

Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism features straightforward and informal text that is never simplistic. Its unique, time-tested "Examples and Explanations" pedagogy combines textual material with well-written and comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions to test students' comprehension and provide practice in applying information to fact patterns. The questions (in which there are often a variety of issues in play) are similar to those on a law school or bar examination. A problem-oriented guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law that are covered in a typical course. Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism is designed to help students think about the larger issues of constitutional law with both depth and perception. Part of a two-volume set (with a corresponding text on Individual Rights,) these books compose a foundation in the doctrines and methods of constitutional law and constitutional argument. The organization parallels and complements any major constitutional law casebook.

The authors, recognized authorities for over a third of a century, provide succinct and authoritative coverage of the major principles in modern American constitutional law. This book is a shortened version based on the authors' hornbook (popular with students) and their six-volume treatise (popular with judges, practitioners, and scholars). It analyzes the constitutional issues studied today, and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, federal commerce and spending powers, state powers in light of the dormant Commerce Clause, the war power, freedom of speech and religion, equal protection, due process, and other important individual rights and liberties. This book is completely up to date and includes all major Supreme Court cases through July, 2010, including what may seem to be the ground breaking First Amendment decisions of the Roberts' Court.

Nowak and Rotunda's Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure provides scholars, practitioners, judges, and officials with an up-to-date analysis and synthesis of federal constitutional law. Focus is primarily on the Supreme Court and incorporates the political, historical, and economic background of court decisions.
The text analyzes constitutional questions in terms of precedent, political science theory, economics and American history, making the leading cases understandable concerning both their overall significance and the precise legal rules they establish.

Judges from various state and federal courts, including the Supreme Court, have cited the Second Edition of Modern Constitutional Law in support of their decision. A thorough update of the Second Edition, this Third Edition covers a broader range of topics than most constitutional law treatises. It includes in depth analysis of:
Native American law
Juvenile law
Military justice
Full faith and credit
Civil and criminal contempt
This third edition includes a major reorganization of topics designed to make constitutional doctrine even more accessible to lawyers and non-lawyers.

Understanding Constitutional Law covers all of the central concepts and issues students encounter in any basic constitutional law course. Structure of Government issues revolve around the twin themes of federalism and separation of powers. Individual rights and liberties follow a concept organization-Due Process, Equal Protection, and First Amendment. Clearly written and authoritative, Understanding Constitutional Law addresses the central concepts and issues students encounter in most Constitutional Law casebooks. "Structure of government" issues revolve around the twin themes of federalism and separation of powers. Individual rights and liberties follow a concept organization - Due Process, Equal Protection, and First Amendment.

Supplemented annually

This study guide includes 192 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 24 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the authors provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less, and includes a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

This book covers the essential elements of constitutional law in a condensed framework. This book's concise, up-to-date, user-friendly approach is refreshing. Whether students are studying for constitutional law exams or the bar exam, this book offers a highly readable yet thorough coverage of the subject. Each chapter begins with a simple roadmap alerting the reader to the direction of the chapter. The chapter naturally unfolds according to that plan and then ends with a list of checkpoints that summarize the chapter in pithy phrases. The book ends with a complete outline for constitutional law, a great study aid.

Skills and Values: Constitutional Law brings practical context to what is possibly the most abstract and thus, for many students, frustrating course in the basic law school curriculum. The heart of the book are problems which pose constitutional law issues in the context of situations a lawyer is likely actually to encounter in her practice. As practical problems they require the student to perform functions required of a practicing lawyer, ranging from deposition preparation to letter-drafting to presentation of legal concepts to lay audiences. The problems thus require students to demonstrate mastery of doctrine in the context of real-world problems that call for practical lawyering skills.

This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Seton Hall Law Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.

The topics discussed in this law student study outline are the powers of federal government, including judicial power, powers of Congress, presidential power, foreign affairs power, and intergovernmental immunities. Also included are separation of powers, regulation of foreign commerce, and regulation of interstate commerce. It also covers taxation of interstate and foreign commerce, due process, equal protection, "state action" requirements, freedoms of speech, press, and association, and freedom of religion.

This treatise provides a detailed, up-to-date, and comprehensive analysis of American constitutional law. It examines the issues that are studied and litigated today and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, the sources of national authority, the growth of federal commerce and fiscal powers, and the limits on state laws that burden interstate commerce. It analyzes individual liberties and due process, including freedom of speech and religion, federal powers to enforce the Bill of Rights, and limitations on the jurisdiction of federal courts. Finally, it examines the separation of powers, including the restrictions on the foreign affairs power.

Sum & Substance Audio CD Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The CD provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These CD s are time saving, convenient and effective.

This authoritative text provides a framework for understanding individual liberty and governmental power and the institutional role played by the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage in this new improved edition includes all the major topics of the subject: judicial review: commerce clause and state powers: federalism: separation of powers: congressional and executive powers: and individual civil rights and civil liberties. Includes diagrams that aid understanding of the fundamentals of our system of government. Extremely accessible and comprehensive -- this is a paperback course in American Constitutional Law.

United States Constitutional Law guides law students, political science students, and engaged citizens through the complexities of U.S. Supreme Court doctrine--and its relationship to constitutional politics--in key areas ranging from federalism and presidential power to equal protection and substantive due process. Rather than approach constitutional law as a static structure or imagine the Supreme Court as acting in isolation from society, the book elaborates and clarifies key constitutional doctrines while also drawing on scholarship in law and political science that relates the doctrines to large social changes such as industrialization, social movements such as civil rights and second-wave feminism, and institutional tensions between governmental actors.

This audio lecture includes: Marbury v. Madison and Judicial Review Narrow and Broad Readings of Marbury, The Traditional Approach to Constitutional Law; The Commerce Clause and Federal Legislative Power The Federal Structure, The Commerce Clause, Other Federal Powers, State Interference with the Federal System; The Rise and Fall and Rise of Substantive Due Process Fundamental Rights, History of Due Process, The Rise of Substantive Due Process, Roe v. Wade and Fundamental Rights; Equal Protection Political Process Theory, Affirmative Action; Introduction to the First Amendment Freedom of Speech and Press, Free Exercise of Religion, Establishment of Religion.