FAMU Law Library Required Courses Materials Guide: Contracts

A thorough overview of Contracts, the fifth edition of this popular E&E for Brian Blum's extraordinarily lucid explanations of complex concepts.

This nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the Common Law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution.

This treatise covers the topics of: formation of Contracts; Statute of Frauds; Interpretation; Parol Evidence; Mistake; Construction and Legal Operation of Contract: Conditions of Legal Duty; Rights of Third Parties: Assignment, Joint and Several Contracts; Breach of Contract; Discharge and Impossibility; Illegal Bargains.

This eagerly awaited revision of a prestigious student treatise helps professors demystify the intricacies of contract law. Long respected for its clarity and accessibility, Contracts, in its completely updated Fourth Edition, continues to illuminate doctrine and practice.

The expert author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach.

This work is the quintessential guide to the modern common law of contracts. It covers fundamental principles, providing a complete, coherent overview of contract law. Relied on and adopted by courts nationwide, this authoritative work is one of ALI’s most frequently cited publications.

Williston on Contracts covers and analyzes every aspect of contract law, including historical underpinnings, majority and minority views, and current trends. It traces contract law from its common-law roots in English cases and shows how it has evolved to meet contemporary concerns.

The Siegel's Series works through key topics in a Q&A format, providing an additional source for self-quizzing. A proven resource for high performance, titles in this exam-prep series contain essay questions with model answers, as well as multiple-choice questions and answers. Siegel's Series Features: All titles newly revised and updated Multiple-choice questions with answers Essay questions with model answers Available for all major subjects Great for exam prep

Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer QandA s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well.

This new edition of Questions & Answers: Contracts contains entirely new questions. Understand better what you’re learning in Contracts class by applying concepts as you learn them. Prepare more effectively for exams and the bar exam. This study guide includes 168 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 40 questions comprising a comprehensive “practice exam.”

Understanding Contracts was written to help law students with what is likely to be one of their most challenging first-year courses. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts that is not found in other similar books is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. The feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.

Understand better what you're learning in Contracts class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes 230 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 20 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, Professor Rowley provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Rowley provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

Mastering Contract Law explores the basic principles and purposes of contract law, including a discussion of background principles and traditions of private ordering. The book explains contract formation, interpretation, and the requirement of written evidence for enforcement of certain types of promises. It explores the themes and doctrines of reliance, restitution, and the importance of public policy in contract law. Chapters include all of the areas of contract law typically covered in the first-year course, including the bargained-for exchange, unenforceable contracts, performance and breach, obstacles to performance, modification, pre-contractual obligation, remedies and damages, and stakeholders other than contracting parties, including the third-party beneficiary doctrine, delegation and assignment.The organization of the book reflects the five sequential questions that frame the thought processes of lawyers and judges dealing with contracts issues.

Skills & Values: Contracts allows students to experience the connection between theory, doctrine, and practice in Contracts law. The exercises provide an opportunity for studying Contract concepts from the perspective of a practicing attorney who must not only know the law, but also employ lawyering skills and values - such as legal strategy, factual development, advocacy, counseling, drafting, problem solving, and ethical principles - in zealously representing a client.