FAMU Law Library Required Courses Materials Guide: Torts

Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final.

"This Nutshell provides a comprehensive explanation of the basic principles and rules of American tort law as it exists today. This Nutshell has been used for over twenty-five years by law students, law graduates preparing for the bar exam, and others seeking an overview of tort topics.

The Siegel's Series works through key topics in a Q&A format, providing an additional source for self-quizzing. A proven resource for high performance, each title in this exam-prep series contains multiple-choice questions and answers, As well as essay questions with model answers.

Both students and instructors will welcome the new edition of Joseph W. Glannon's the Law of Torts: Examples & Explanations . This popular study guide provides clear, engaging introductions To The principles of tort law, along with interesting examples that illustrate how the principles apply in typical cases.

Emanuel CrunchTime provides a comprehensive topic breakdown and critical information review all in one tool. The application flow charts can be used all semester long, but the capsule summaries are ideal for exam preparation. Each title offers capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers, and recommended approaches for crafting essays that will get winning grades!

The leading contemporary authority on tort law, American Law of Torts helps you perform more detailed, reliable, and complete research across the full spectrum of tort law.

Because the law of torts governs a wide spectrum of social and economic issues, new challenges and precedents arise constantly. This preeminent work on torts is the most complete, authoritative resource analyzing the latest developments in this turbulent field of practice.

A single-volume introduction to contemporary tort and injury law. This expert summary covers direct and intentional interference with person or property and explores their defenses. Reviews liabilities, damages, and the apportionment of responsibility among parties, and examines the criticism and choices in tort law. Economic and dignitary injury is considered as well.

Emphasizes contemporary developments in order to reflect the shift in tort law toward the plaintiff's side and expanded liability. Expanded coverage is included on subjects such as constitutional privilege in defamation, privacy, product liability, and strict liability. Also reflects the current shift toward compulsory auto insurance and compensation plans.

This work, widely relied upon and often cited by the courts, offers comprehensive and concise coverage of the law of torts, with scholarly and analytical discussion of particular rules. These volumes constitute a revision of the original Restatement of Torts and supersede the original work.

This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features:

Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation, and invasion of privacy;
Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions;
Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course; and
In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy.

Every tort claim for relief, and every affirmative tort defense, has a set of required elements. It is the student's task to learn these elements and to develop an understanding about how to apply them to real and hypothetical fact patterns. Questions & Answers: Torts can help with this task. The book includes 202 questions organized by topic. The multiple-choice questions require students to pick the best of a list, the worst of a list, or the story that illustrates a point of doctrine most effectively. The short answers require analysis of scenarios and communication of discrete points. The Practice Final Exam and Essay Issue-Spotter Questions contain an additional 54 questions.

Mastering Tort Law is a succinct, practical guide to the intricacies of tort law. Functional in approach, it describes and illustrates basic tort doctrine, and provides students with insight into more advanced tort theories. In an attempt to facilitate student learning, the book includes a roadmap at the beginning of each chapter and a checklist at the end.

Skills & Values: Torts allows students to experience the connection between theory, doctrine, and practice in Torts law. The exercises provide an opportunity for studying Torts concepts from the perspective of a practicing attorney who must not only know the law, but also employ lawyering skills and values -- such as legal strategy, factual development, advocacy, counseling, drafting, problem solving, and ethical principles -- in zealously representing a client.