The Mission of the Florida A&M University Libraries is to provide a user centered information environment that supports inspirational teaching, the advancement of knowledge, innovative research, meaningful service, and life long learning to the local and global university community.
The University Libraries collections and resources are sufficient to ensure the achievement of the goals and outcomes of the University. Samuel H. Coleman Memorial Library (the main library) and branch libraries provide pertinent collections which have been selected with faculty input and are readily accessible to faculty and students both onsite and off campus. Collections and access include traditional print and 24/7 electronic access to full text databases, e-journals, e-books, and streaming video.
The University maintains borrowing agreements and memberships that mutually enhance the availability of resources for FAMU and other Florida learning communities. Partnerships are with the State University Libraries of Florida, the Florida College System Libraries and the State Library of Florida. The Libraries are members of the Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC) and served by the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC) which provides products and services to the users and staff of Florida’s public college and university libraries.
Onsite and reciprocal borrowing privileges to students and faculty at all 40 Florida public institutions of postsecondary education is provided. Service includes daily document delivery via statewide courier to the libraries in the Florida Library Information Network (FLIN). FAMU students and faculty have access to the courier service for interlibrary loan transactions.
For holdings and collection information for specific programs, see the Academic Programs tab at the top.
FAMU Libraries provide a full range of traditional and innovative library services. Users have access to reference services via local and toll-free telephone and through the AskALibrarian email, online chat, and text services. Services enable users to access and to use information resources in the libraries and from remote locations. The Information Commons, in Coleman Library, allows users to access main library services from one common area. Several Library services are available from this service point. Services include borrowing privileges, interlibrary loan, course reserves, reference and research services, and systems support services.
Borrowing Privileges
Students, faculty, and staff have borrowing privileges at the FAMU Libraries, and reciprocal borrowing privileges to the 40 public universities and colleges in Florida. Borrowers may view and renew items that are currently checked out through the online catalog.
Interlibrary Loan
Students, faculty, and staff who are currently enrolled and engaged in academic research have Interlibrary Loan (ILL) borrowing privileges to the 40 public universities and colleges in Florida and to other libraries globally. Requests may be initiated in person or online.
Course Reserves
Print and electronic materials may be placed on reserve at the Libraries. The reserve service provides a central and convenient location for students to retrieve materials. These materials are owned by the University or come from the private collections of faculty who place materials on reserve for enrolled students.
Reference and Research Services
On site and virtual reference/research services are provided. Reference Services include individual research/consultation, the provision of electronic and print research guides and the provision of online tutorials. Reference librarians provide a variety of instructional services to meet the information literacy needs of students, faculty, staff, administrators, and the community at large.
Instruction/Information Literacy
The University Libraries provide competent, quality, and timely instruction through a variety of instructional services. Information is delivered through informal and point of use instruction, individual and group instruction, formal orientations and literacy sessions, orientation to new student groups, subject specific scheduled workshops, printed handouts, research guides and online tutorials. Instruction is provided to onsite users as well as to online learners. Information literacy sessions are designed to equip users with the skills needed to locate, evaluate, and use library information resources and services. Formal literacy instruction is based upon goals as defined by classroom faculty. The Information Literacy classroom allows hands-on interactive instruction. Library instruction is based on the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Frameworks for Information Literacy for Higher Education.
Liaison Program
Librarians work with all academic units to assure that the collection supports defined curricular goals and that adequate services, including instruction are provided. Each school has appointed representatives to the Library Collection Development Committee. These representatives work in collaboration with the subject librarian to evaluate, select and purchase resources recommended for specific programs.
Students, faculty and staff have access to collections, resources and services 24 hours a day, seven days a week, either through the 140 hours that the main library is open or through the library web page. Through the University Libraries’ web page, faculty and students have full access to the FAMU library catalog on or off campus, and the library catalogs of the State University System and Florida College System libraries. Online resources and services are available within the libraries, from campus computers, in faculty offices, and from residence halls. Off-campus access is available 24 hours a day to authenticated users (students, faculty, and staff). Support services such as instruction, interlibrary loans, loan renewals, course reserves, and reference and research assistance are also accessible from the web page.
The Systems Department provides and maintains 250 public computers along with software, hardware and support services necessary for providing and using information resources. Computers are configured to provide access to the libraries’ web page and online catalog. Computers are also configured with various types of production software allowing users’ access to the Microsoft Office Suite (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, OneDrive), SPSS, SAS, LockDown Browser, and more. Additional services are made available in response to customer service surveys and other assessment.
Computers are located on each floor of the main library and in all branch libraries. Printing is available from all computers. Documents queued to print may be picked up via the closest print station within the main library or any branch library. Scanning stations are available near the Information Commons Desk and provides scanning of photos and documents. Multiple sizes are available.
A help desk is staffed as part of the Information Commons to assist users with software applications and technology support. Helpdesk staff assists users with laptop registration and circulation, and referrals and resolution of computing and printing needs and issues.
All faculty and students have full access to the facilities of FAMU’s Coleman Memorial Library and branch libraries. These facilities more than adequately support faculty and student use of information technology for instruction, learning and research. Coleman Memorial Library occupies approximately 88,964 net square feet. Almost 20,000 additional square feet are available in the branch libraries. The University Libraries have a seating capacity of 834, including group study rooms, a student study lounge and cafe, and 20 graduate study carrels. Coleman Library also includes an information literacy classroom and teleconference rooms. All library facilities are wired for internet access. The main library and its immediate grounds are wireless, enabling students and faculty convenient and generous access to the wireless network using their own supported laptops, or they may borrow one of 24 network-ready laptops from the Library Systems Department for use in the library.