LibGuides: Law Sources for Students and Educators: Websites for Educators

Websites of Interest

The websites listed to the right have a wide variety of useful information for educators. The websites cover a range of issues such as Copyright Law to the No Child Left Behind Act.

To find out what information is covered by a website, hover your cursor over the link and detail about the website will be displayed. After you click on the link you would like to navigate, a new window will open with the website that you chose being displayed.

For an introduction to a variety of legal topics, including constitutional law issues such as free speech, you can visit the Law@Work LibGuide created by Dr. Matthew Kenny here.

Federal Educational Law

Cornell Legal Information Institute Education Page
This webpage provides a broad overview of the Federal law that governs education. It provides links other sources that are narrower in scope, so if you do not find the information that you are searching for on the main page there is a good chance that you can find links concerning your topic of interest.

Education law is controlled, in large part, by the Federal Government. These websites provide information about the various sources of Federal law that impact educators and their students.

U.S. Department of Education
The official website of the U.S. Department of Education is a good gateway to finding information on education law. Using the various tabs and tabs and links, you can find information on a wide variety of topics.

Law Concerning Students with Disabilities

The Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
This link will direct you to the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services website. The website provides information on special education, vocational rehabilitation, and research conducted by the Federal Government.

These sources provide information concerning the laws for students with disabilities.

Office for Civil Rights IDEA and Section 504 Webpage
This webpage details the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act and how it interacts with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. A portion of the information is technical or procedural in nature, but the page also covers the daily impacts that the laws can have on schools and educators.
IDEA Official Website
This link will guide you to the official website of the IDEA Act created by the U.S. Department of Education. The information that the site provides about IDEA is determined by the age of the student.

Copyright Law

Educational Cyber Playground
This website covers copyright law for educators. The website is divided into fifteen pages, each covering an aspect of copyright law. While the site is dense with information it is organized so that specific material can be found easily.

Copyright law is a major concern for educators of all kinds and at all grade levels. These websites provide guidance on how to better navigate the complex maze that is copyright law.

U.S. Copyright Office
This is the official United States Copyright Office's webpage. It gives information on copyright law as well as provides up to date news on the Copyright Office's activities.
Cornell Institute of Law Copyright Page
The Cornell Legal Information Institute web page is a solid source for copyright law. It covers the Copyright act itself, recent court actions, and provides links to forms and other more focused sources of information pertaining to copyright law.

State Education Law

EROD State Agency Listing
This link will take you to the U.S. Education Department's resource organization directory. The directory provides links to the educational agencies of all the states, commonwealths, and territories.

These websites will allow you to find information on the states' education agencies.

Florida's Education Department Webpage - Florida Education Laws
This page gives information on the statues that govern Florida education, the state's board of education rules, community college policies, and the college and university rules and memoranda.