Law School Academic Support, Exam Study, and Bar Prep: Studying for Exams

Students who do well in law school tend to write their exams in a particular way. The purpose of this book is to introduce students to this method. Chapters teach the law student the purpose of an essay exam, the process of getting started, the basic steps in writing the essay, principles for explaining your answer, as well as basic organizational, signposting, and writing rules. An appendix contains two actual exam questions, including a "model" answer.

Mastering the Law School Exam is designed to provide students with a knowledgeable, reasonable, and rational voice to navigate the intricacies of law school exams. This book is practical rather than theoretical where the emphasis is on providing the type of detailed examples necessary to show students precisely "how to do it" and "how to write it.' By working with numerous illustrations in the context of substantive law, students learn to: Fill the gap between what the professor refers to as learning to "think like a lawyer" and the actual means for doing so. Create a successful path from note-taking -to outlining-to exam writing. Identify the basic skills that exams seek to test and the precise manner in which they are tested. Become familiar with the general types of law school exams through examples and detailed analyses of sample answers. Use the language of the law in the writing of issues, statements of the rule, and analysis of the facts. See what a "disorganized exam" really means and how to correct it.

Law School Exams: Preparing and Writing to Win provides law students with a practical guide to success, from admission to law school to the first set of exams. This 200-page paperback conveys two points about exam taking that are vital to every law student: (1) exam scores can always be improved if the student masters effective exam techniques such as those outlined in this book, and (2) preparing to perform well on exams begins with a positive mind-set on the first day of class and steadily proceeds with solid study techniques throughout the semester.

It answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams. The Nutshell also provides information about the types of legal practice that are available to you when you graduate. And it describes the opportunities that will be available to you during your second and third years of law school, such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.

In this work, nationally-recognized exam expert Professor Charles Whitebread will teach you the eight secrets that will add points to every exam answer you write. You will learn the three keys to handling any essay exam, how to use time to your advantage, issue-spotting, how to organize your answer, and the hidden traps of the IRAC method. Once you have mastered these skills, you can put your knowledge to the test with sample exam questions, and check your answers against those provided. There is also a special section on how to do well on other exams, like open book, multiple choice, or policy exams.

Strategies and Tactics for the First Year Law Student gives you a detailed, step-by-step program for surviving the first year of law school. Note-taking--Sharpening your note-taking skills will maximize your study time and improve your grades. Your law professor's personality--Understanding it can be to your advantage. Study traps--What are they and how to avoid them. Memory aids--How classic memory systems work and when you should (and shouldn't) use them. The pressures of law school--Effective techniques for handling the pressure from classmates, professors, and reading assignments. Taking exams--Nine steps to writing exceptional exam answers. The Internet--Useful search engines and websites.

Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades is the complete handbook for students who want to significantly improve their performance in law school. In most law school classes, 90% of a student's final grade is based on a single comprehensive exam that is given at the end of the semester. This book focuses on developing the one skill that can really improve a student's GPA: getting the best possible grade on that all-important exam. Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades offers a practical, top-to-bottom strategy that can be applied to almost any law school exam, regardless of the topic or level.

Written from the perspective of a student with a 4.0 GPA, this book offers fresh and unique insights on law school exams by stripping the exam format into a series of repeatable steps and building blocks. It also teaches students how to ¿prepare for exams, instead of preparing for class,¿ with proven time-management, outlining, and case-briefing techniques. Based on the author's highly successful seminar series at the University of Miami, these strategies have already helped hundreds of law students improve their grades. Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades is perfect for the over-achieving law student who is aiming for perfect grades, the struggling upper-division student who needs guidance to stay afloat, or the eager pre-law student who wants a peek at what lies ahead.

Essay exams don't have to be a mystery. With its wealth of visual aids, examples, and practical advice, John Dernbach's concise guide enables pre-law and law school students to develop the strong essay-writing skills they need to succeed and feel confident taking essay exams. Making a big difference in only about 100 pages, Writing Essay Exams to Succeed in Law School (Not Just to Survive), features: brief but to the point and written in an comprehensible, engaging style includes visuals, such as an attractive design and boxes on interesting points, that not only help with understanding the authorrsquo;s points but also hold studentsrsquo; attention provides many examples that outline what is wrong with the example and demonstrate how to do things right includes sample exam questions, each with several possible answers New to the Third Edition ; the author has annotated the student answer to the Hayakawa problem in Chapter 4 to show key features, such as explanations of rules, explanation of elements, application of sub-elements to facts, and conclusions an all-new Chapter 8 explains how exams are like the real practice of law -a point that underscores the enduring importance of learning exam-writing skills. Writing Essay Exams to Succeed in Law School, Not Just to Survive, Third Edition, is exactly the tool every student needs to learn to write superior exams.