LibGuides: FAMU Law Library: Home

Library Hours

Monday - Friday 7:00 A.M. - 9:00 P.M.

Saturday 10:00 A.M. - 7:00 P.M.

Sunday Closed

Reference Service Hours

Monday - Friday 7:00 A.M. - 9:00 P.M.

Saturday 10:00 A.M. - 7:00 P.M.

Sunday Closed

Spotlight On

CALI
The Center for Automated Legal Instruction (CALI) is a library of over 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. CALI also includes podcasts on various legal topics, designed to help students master particular concepts in law.

Find Resources

Database Search

Journal Search

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Nature Online Journals This link opens in a new window
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) This link opens in a new window
Science (Magazine) This link opens in a new window

Browse Search

Law School Hints and News

Setting goals in law school is a great practice, but it is only a part of the process of earning success. Goals can be seen as guideposts that give you an idea of what direction you would like to go. Goals, however, are not the routine habits that you use to focus your efforts to obtain those goals. Take some time and examine your personal and work habits. Evaluate which ones help you move toward your goals and those that hinder your progress. By enhancing or establishing productive habits and eliminating those that cause inefficiencies, you will be able to reach your goals faster and establish new ones to aim for.

Monthly Showcase

This month’s display features titles that can help students prepare for their finals.

Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure by William Dorsaneo; Elizabeth Thornburg; Brooke Coleman
ISBN: 9781531023737
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure is a supplementary text for use primarily by first-year civil procedure students to obtain a clear understanding of the subject. The book is divided into easy-to-find subject areas so students can pinpoint the questions where they need more review. For students seeking a comprehensive review of civil procedure, the book also includes a sample exam covering a wide array of civil procedure subjects. This edition of the book builds on the foundation established in the first four editions, by revising and updating the topics covered to include new developments in the law. It also includes coverage of all the civil procedure subject areas covered on the Multistate Bar Examination. Finally, the questions have been updated to use more inclusive language.
Glannon Guide to Torts by Richard L. Hasen
ISBN: 9781543807745
Publication Date: 2020-06-10
The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick. The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts. Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture. Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work.
Wills, Trusts, and Estates by Gerry W. Beyer
ISBN: 9780735562400
Publication Date: 2007-02-21
Among the features that make this high-quality guide popular with both students and instructors: - comprehensive coverage -- the text covers intestacy, wills, and trusts, including nonprobate assets, estate administration, wealth transfer taxation (gift tax, estate tax, generation-skipping transfer tax), disability and death planning, and malpractice/professional responsibility - a conversational writing style that is clear, accessible, and holds students' interest - uses the Examples and Explanations format to help students learn in a step-by-step manner and also includes comprehensive questions, with a variety of issues in one fact situation, that are similar to those on law school and bar examinations - casebook correlation charts that make it easy to use the study guide with any of the seven most popular casebooks - a learning by doing approach that provides students with the opportunity to evaluate how well they can apply what they have just learned - practical suggestions throughout the text that enhance its pedagogical value and give students an appreciation of the how the concepts apply in the real world - samples of will and trust provisions and an extensively annotated model will - an overview of general nationwide rules - a comprehensive, student-friendly index that allows students to easily find the information they seek - tables for quick location of material relevant to the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Trust Code, and Internal Revenue Code - updates available on author's website: www.ProfessorBeyer.com Fine-tuned and updated, the Fourth Edition offers: - materials on recent developments, including: transfer of death deeds; self-settled spendthrift trusts; Rule Against Perpetuities reform; federal gift, estate, and generation-skipping transfer tax; Uniform Trust Code; rights of same-sex partners; Medicaid planning; physician-assisted suicide - revised examples that reflect the updated content - updated casebook correlation tables reflecting new editions of the major casebooks
Questions and Answers by Neil Cohen; Michael Benza; Wayne Logan
ISBN: 9781632849540
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
This book and its companion, Q&A: Criminal Procedure -- Police Investigation, will assist learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers discretion to prosecute, bail, complaint, initial appearance, preliminary hearing, grand jury, plea bargaining, joinder and severance, motion practice, discovery, time limitations, jurisdiction and venue, trial, double jeopardy, and postconviction remedies.
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Law by Richard G. Singer
ISBN: 9781454868422
Publication Date: 2018-04-25
EXAMPLES AND EXPLANATIONS: CRIMINAL LAW 7E
Contracts by Brian A. Blum
ISBN: 9781454815471
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Strategies and Tactics for the MBE by Kimm Alayne Walton; Steven Emanuel
ISBN: 9781543805727
Publication Date: 2019-12-19
The Seventh Edition of Strategies & Tactics for the MBE has been carefully revised by Steve Emanuel and is full of up-to-date advice on how to analyze Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) questions in all MBE subject areas (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property with Future Interests, and Torts). Steve Emanuel--author of the Emanuel Law Outlines and CrunchTime books in the MBE-subject areas--has passed the bar exam in several states (including New York and California) and worked with law students to prepare them for taking the MBE. New to the Seventh Edition: 30 additional Civil Procedure questions, all recently asked on the MBE and released by examiners, with detailed answers by Steve Emanuel Recently released actual MBE questions in Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts (also with detailed answers by Steve Emanuel) Key features include: Fully explained answers that not only analyze each answer option for each question, but also explain doctrines or rules that are necessary for answering the question and that you may not have encountered since your first year in law school Detailed advice on how to handle MBE questions in each of the MBE subject areas Step-by-step strategies for analyzing different question types Tips about how subtle differences in wording can change the meaning of an answer Strategies for "rewording" questions in your mind to make them easier to analyze Over 550 questions in the MBE topics (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property and Future Interests, and Torts) that were asked on past MBEs A complete MBE-style 200-question practice exam with detailed answers
Multistate Bar Exam Flash Cards by Mary Basick
ISBN: 9781454868491
Publication Date: 2016-03-23
Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind. With this set of Law in a Flash, you have the foundation for excellent exam preparation for the multistate bar exam (MBE). After going through the set, card by card and issue by issue, you will be able to face the exam with the confidence of knowing and understanding every rule. Emanuel Law in a Flash Cards' features: and#8226;Test your knowledge of black letter law and#8226;Apply the law to hypothetical examples and#8226;Use individually or in group sessions and#8226;Use them anywhere, anytime and#8226;Great for exam prep This title is also available as a mobile app for the iPhone and iPod Touch. See details at www.AspenLaw.com/mobile.
Understanding Property Law by John Sprankling
ISBN: 9781422498736
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Understanding Property Law is a comprehensive and authoritative treatise from our Understanding series that is suitable for use in conjunction with any Property casebook. Features include: Complete coverage of all standard property topics, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, estates and future interests, marital property, land sale transactions, servitudes, nuisance, zoning, takings, and other land use issues; Analysis of cutting-edge topics, such as property rights in human bodies, current takings issues, the new Restatement (Third) of Property (Servitudes), rights and duties of homeowners' associations, and property rights in personal names and likenesses; Discussion of the policy and historical underpinnings of property law doctrines; and Clear writing and detailed organization to facilitate student understanding of both basic concepts and controversial topics.

Disclaimer and Warning

Disclaimer:

The information and links provided in this guide are not intended to provide legal advice. The FAMU College of Law Library offers no assurance or guarantee the information provided is accurate or current.

Warning:

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

If you want more information, please visit this page.

FAMU Law Library Online Repository

Be sure to visit the Library’s Online Repository at http://commons.law.famu.edu/.

The Repository holds a variety of publications and documents that could be useful for projects and research. Alumni, faculty, and student academic publications are available free to access to anyone on the web and cover a wide variety of topics. Through the online repository platform, FAMU College of Law’s Scholarly Commons scholarship has reached thousands of researchers around the world. To see the readership that the College's scholarship has, you can view the daily downloads of the Repository’s holdings through a map located at the bottom of the main page.

The Repository also hosts materials on FAMU College of Law’s founding, including information on the efforts of Virgil Hawkins to enter into the profession of law.

More Ways to Contact Us

Call the Circulation Desk
(407) 254-3263

Call the Reference Desk,
(407) 254-3289

Email us at
famulawlibrary@gmail.com

Mailing Address: 201 FAMU Law Lane Orlando FL 32801